February 28, 2000    Contact: Kate Snider

AMRA – 009    Phone: (916)263-3047


Reno, Nevada – The annual convention and awards banquet of the American Mule Racing Association were held February 26, 2000 in Reno, Nevada at Harrah’s Hotel/Casino.
There was voting for three directors of the six-person Board at the general session.  In addition, in executive session, the Board elected the officers of the organization.  For the year 2000 the Board of directors are:  Don Jacklin, President; Dave Wood, Vice President; Kate Snider, Secretary-Treasurer; Board members Roger Downey, Gary McGraw and Mary McPherson.
Over 40 members and guests were in attendance for the annual meeting.   Seventy attended the awards banquet on Saturday evening.  For the fourth year in a row, the amazing Black Ruby was named a year-end champion.  Her owners, Sonny and Mary McPherson also received the award for the three-year old World Champion, Scooter.  To complete the evening for the McPhersons, Mary was named as Leading Owner for 1999.

Other categories were:
· 61 and under – Miss Nite Lite
· 62–74  Dead heat between Champagne Charlie and Lucky Penny
· 75-85   Dead heat between Sis Ki You Loretta and Southern Preacher
· Leading claimer – Dwighty Yoakum
· Leading trainer – Jerry Jackson
· Leading jockey – another dead heat–Jim Burns and Danny Boag
· Emerging jockey – Robert Boyce
· Special Recognition Award – Joe Scott from Winnemucca, Nevada who was instrumental in bringing mule racing to the Annual Mule Days and for his tireless efforts to improve the race meet each year.

If you would like more information on becoming a member of the
American Mule Racing Association, please call us at (916) 263-1529.